It's the Law!

Failure to comply with California Laws and Regulations pertaining to the selling and reselling of fruits and vegetables may result in confiscation of product and/or fines of up to \$1000.00 for each violation depending on the severity.



OUR MISSION

"To provide professional services that support and contribute to a safe, abundant, quality food supply; environmentally sound agricultural practices; and an equitable marketplace for California Agriculture."

Please help keep illegally obtained produce out of the marketplace by providing Proof of Ownership



You may access and review the laws and regulations that pertain to fruits and vegetables through the web:

http://www.cdfa.ca.gov - Laws & Regs

CDFA-Inspection Services Division Inspection and Compliance Branch Standardization Program 1220 N Street Sacramento, Ca 95814

> PH: (916) 900-5030 Fax: (916) 900-5345



Program Contact Information Stacey Hughes, Supervisor Fresno (559) 977-5416 Karrie Batchelor, Supervisor Visalia (559) 972-4083 Andrea Todd, Supervisor Fresno (559) 352-0898 Anna Carrasquillo, Inspector San Bernardino (714) 628-6485 Kevin Jenkins, Inspector Sacramento (530) 565-5043

Information may also be obtained at your local Agricultural Commissioner's Office http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/exec/county/county_contacts.html



Inspection and Compliance Branch

Standardization Program



Fresh Produce Container Labeling Proof of Ownership

When Transporting and Selling Fruits Nuts and Vegetables at Wholesale Markets Flea Markets Swap Meets Roadside Stands

Proof of Ownership

California Food and Agricultural Code Sections 861-866

25 LBS OR MORE OF FRUITS NUTS OR VEGETABLES IN POSSESSION REQUIRES PROOF OF OWNERSHIP

Persons who sell Commodities for resale shall provide buyers or transporters a record of Proof of Ownership. Every person buying produce for resale shall obtain from previous buyer a record of Proof of Ownership.

Record Shall Include
Name Address Phone Number
Signature of Seller
Name Address Phone Number
of Purchaser
Common Name of Commodity
Quantity Sold
Date of Transaction

Acceptable Proof Bill of Lading Bill of Sale Certified Producers Certificate

ABC Produce Company 1234 R Street Merced, CA 93622 (209) 456-1234 <u>Receipt No. 00</u>			
sold by Goe Smith		August 4, 2011	
ADDRESS	hn Jones	(209) 239-	
САЯН САЯН	CHARGE	CO.D. ON ACC	
10 ctns	Valencia	Oranges	
2 bins	Watermel	ons	
			·

Proof of Ownership Records shall be retained by the buyer and seller for a period of 60 days after delivery

Standard Containers

The Following Commodities have Standard Container Requirements

Apples·Apricots·Artichokes·Avocados·Cabbage Cantaloupe·Cauliflower·Celery·Cherries·Citrus Grapes·Lettuce·Melons·Nectarines·Peaches Plums·Fresh Prunes·Tomatoes

For a complete listing of the containers and dimensions refer to California Code of Regulations Title 3. Article 4. Section 1380.19.

The Commodities listed above shall not be packed or placed into Non-Standard Containers including "Banana Boxes" transported to and offered for sale at Swap Meets/Flea Markets or Roadside Stands.



Reused Container Requirements Persons reusing containers are required to Obliterate All Inapplicable Markings and replace with appropriate markings; IRQ

Responsibility Statement is of the person responsible for placing the reused containers back in the channels of trade

Inapplicable Markings Include: Old Brands • Trade Marks • Grade Designations Responsibility Statements • Identity Statements Quantity Statements • Variety Statements

Marking Requirements

Identity Statement Responsibility Statement Quantity Statement

Identity: Common Name of Commodity Responsibility: Name & Address including Zip Code Quantity: Net Weight Measure or Count

Abbreviation of Identity is Not Allowed

All Markings Must Be Legible

Some Commodities have Additional Marking Requirements such as Variety or Size Refer to California Code of Regulations Title 3. Article 7 - Article 43

There are some Marking and Container exemptions extended to <u>Producers</u> selling produce at or near the point of production or at a Certified Farmers Market

> Refer to California Food and Agricultural Code Section 47002

THERE ARE **NO STANDARD CONTAINER OR MARKING EXEMPTIONS** FOR PRODUCE BEING TRANSPORTED TO AND OFFERED FOR SALE OR RESALE AT ROADSIDE STANDS SWAP MEETS WHOLESALE MARKETS OR FLEA MARKETS

Consumer Containers

Most Commodities Container Size: 15lbs or less If weighed at point of sale-does not require IRQ If sold as a unit-<u>must</u> have IRQ

> Refer to California Code of Regulations Title 4. Division 9. Chapter 10. Article 2