

Fresno County Assessor-Recorder's Office

Contact: Paul Dictos C.P.A.

Tel. 600-6879

email: pdictos@co.fresno.ca.us

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

February 5, 2015

State of California Property Tax Postponement Program

Fresno, California-Fresno County Assessor-Recorder Paul Dictos, is pleased to announce that on September 28, 2014, Governor Brown signed AB 2231 (Statutes of 2014, Chapter 703), which reinstates the State Controller's Property Tax Postponement Program with some revisions. The new program will be effective July 1, 2016, for the 2016-2017 fiscal year. The State Controller's Office will oversee the program and will begin accepting applications on September 1, 2016. The State Controller's Office may be reached for more information at (800) 952-5661 or by email postponement@sco.ca.gov.

See FAQ at: http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/ptp_2014_FAQ.pdf

The program allows a property owner to postpone the payment of property taxes if they meet the following requirements:

- Must be at least 62 years of age, or blind, or disabled
- Own and occupy the property as the principal place of residence
- Have a total household income of \$35,500 or less
- Have at least 40% equity in the property each year an application is submitted

The taxes are postponed by means of a loan from the State Controller's Office. The loan becomes due and payable when the claimant moves, sells, dies, changes title on the property, becomes delinquent on a senior lien, refinances the home or participates in a reverse mortgage.

"This is GOOD NEWS for our seniors struggling to make ends meet" said Fresno County Assessor-Recorder Paul Dictos.

#############