COUNTY OF FRESNO



COUNTY CLERK / REGISTRAR OF VOTERS JAMES A. KUS

LEGAL DOCUMENT ASSISTANT APPLICANT INSTRUCTIONS INDIVIDUAL REGISTRATION COUNTY OF FRESNO

To complete the registration process, the following steps must be met:

- 1. Complete and sign the application form.
- 2. Provide supporting documentation as requested on the application form.
- 3. Fees are as follows:
 - (a) Initial fee of \$201.00 plus an additional \$3.00 per page attached to the bond, if applicable.
 - (b)\$10.00 each additional ID card to be issued.
 - (c) An application for an individual shall be accompanied by a bond in the amount of \$25,000 for 1 to 4 employees, \$50,000 for 5 to 9 employees and \$100,000 for 10 or more employees.
- 4. All applications for an individual will need a passport picture for the ID card.

Applicant must be present with proper identification.

Per California BP code 6403(b), the application for registration of a natural person shall be accompanied by the display of personal identification acceptable to the county clerk to adequately determine the identity of the applicant.



LEGAL DOCUMENT ASSISTANT INDIVIDUAL REGISTRATION COUNTY OF FRESNO

Registration Number:	0	(This space reserved for County Clerk Use)
Expiration Date: Two years from File/Renewal date or of		
Filing Fees		
Filing Registration Filing Bond	\$ 182.00 + \$ 19.00	
Total fee payable to "Fresno County Clerk"	\$ 201.00	
Additional ID cards	\$ 10.00	
Each Additional Page	\$ 3.00	

Instructions:

- Completely fill in all personal information requested in Part A
- Check each applicable box in Parts B through E and provide information as requested for each box that is checked
 - o Attach legible copies of all documents requested for each box that is checked
 - Attach certified copies and originals as specified
- You must sign the completed application under penalty of perjury.

A. Personal Information

Name:	Date of Birth:
Business Name:	
Business Address:	
Business Telephone Number:	
CA Driver's License Number:(Or other personal identification that is acceptable	

2221 Kern Street (mailing address) or 2220 Tulare St., 1st Fl. (physical address) • Fresno, California 93721 Clerk Services (559)600-2575 • Elections (559)600-8683 • Fax (559)488-3279 • Central Warehouse (559)600-3032 Equal Employment Opportunity • Affirmative Action • Disabled Employer

B. Education and Experience

1.	Parale	egal Program/ABA School			
		I have earned a certificate of completion from a paralegal program that is approved by the American Bar Association (attach copy of certificate of completion).			
2.	Parale	egal Program/Non-ABA School			
	-AND	I have earned a certificate of completion from a paralegal program that is institutionally accredited but that is not approved by the American Bar Association (attach copy of certificate of completion).			
		I successfully completed a minimum of 24 semester units (or the equivalent) in legal specialization courses (attach copy of transcript). Number of semester units (or the equivalent)			
3.	. College or University				
		I have a Bachelor's Degree in(attach copy of diploma) Name of Major			
	-OR-	•			
4.	High	School or General Equivalency Diploma			
	□ -OR-	I have a high school diploma (attach copy of diploma).			
		I have a general equivalency diploma (attach copy of diploma).			
		I have completed at least two years of law-related experience working under the supervision of a licensed attorney (attach original statement on the attorney's letterhead signed by the attorney describing the scope and dates of your experience).			
	-OR- □	I completed at least two years of experience providing self-help service as defined by Business and Professions Code §6400(d) before January 1, 1999 (attach original statement describing the scope and dates of your experience).			

C. Civil Judgment

	Have you been held liable in a final judgment or a stipulated judgment entered in a civil action that alleged fraud, use of an untrue or misleading representation, or use of an unfair, unlawful or deceptive business practice? (attach certified copy of each judgment). YES NO
	Have you had a civil judgment entered against you in an action arising out of negligence, reckless or willful failure to properly perform my obligation as a legal document assistant or an unlawful detainer assistant? (attach certified copy of each judgment). YES NO
	inal Conviction (Note: Conviction means a plea or verdict of guilty or a conviction following of nolo contendere. Any conviction dismissed under Penal Code §1203.4 must be included).
	Have you been convicted of a felony? (attach certified copies of each conviction and disposition). YES NO
	Have you been convicted of a misdemeanor unlawful practice of law or contempt of the authority of a court under Business and Professions Code §6125-§6127, or found liable under Section §6126.5? (attach certified copies of each conviction and disposition). YES NO
	Have you been convicted of a misdemeanor violation of the provisions on legal document assistants and unlawful detainer assistants at Business and Professions Code §6400-6416? (attach certified copies of each conviction and disposition). YES NO
E. Revo	ocation of Registration/Disbarment or Suspension
	Have you had a registration as a legal document assistant or an unlawful detainer assistant revoked by a County Clerk under Business and Professions Code §6413? (attach certified copy of each revocation).
	Are you presently disbarred or suspended from the practice of law pursuant to Business and Professions Code §6100-6117? Date of Disbarment or Suspension
	YES NO
	der penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that all information lication and on all accompanying documents is true and correct.
Signature:	
Date:	

Temporary Addendum to Legal Document Assistant Registration Due to California Assembly Bill 285 (Chapter 295)

Effective January 1, 2016, the Department of Consumer Affairs shall develop the application required to be completed by a person for purposes of registration as a Legal Document Assistant. In an effort to meet the new requirements this Temporary Addendum to the application is in place only until the official application is issued by the Department of Consumer Affairs.

Renewal of Registration – Individual / Corporations-Partnership

Registration #:
Individual's Name on Application:
Per Business & Professions Code Section §6402.2, to be eligible to renew registration, the registrant shall complete 15 hours of continuing legal education courses, which meet the requirements of Section §6070 MCLE (Minimum Continuing Legal Education Requirements), during the two-year period preceding renewal.
This addendum is incorporated with my application dated:
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that I have completed 15 (fifteen) hours of continuing legal education courses as required per B&P Code Section §6402.2 which meet the requirements set forth in B&P Code Section §6070.
Signature:
Date:

^{*} This Addendum MUST be executed by the same signer as showing on the referenced application.