
Declaration of Installation 
Smoke Alarms and Carbon Monoxide 

Alarms 2024 

Building Permit #  

Dear Property Owner or Licensed Contractor: 

The California Residential Code (CRC) requires that carbon monoxide (CO) alarms as well as smoke 
alarms shall be installed in dwelling units intended for human occupancy upon application for a permit for 
alterations, repairs, or additions exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000). In order to grant a final 
approval on your permit, it is necessary to verify the installation of these alarms within your dwelling unit. 
This form provides you the ability to self-verify this installation to Development Services staff when 
convenient access to the interior of the  dwelling is not readily available, (e.g., re-roof, rooftop 
photovoltaic system, service change or other exterior work). 

DECLARATION OF INSTALLATION UNDER THE PENALTY OF PERJURY 

By signing this document as the owner or licensed contractor, I/we affirm and declare 
under the penalty of perjury, under the laws of the State of California, by our signatures 
below as owner or licensed contractor that I/we will comply prior to final inspection with 
Items A & B as specified herein and in accordance with CRC sections R314 and R315 : 

A. Smoke alarms are installed in accordance with the approved manufacturer’s instructions and per the
requirements of the California Residential Code, in all of the following areas:

a. Each sleeping room(s).
b. Outside each separate sleeping area in the immediate vicinity of the bedrooms.
c. On each additional story of the dwelling, including basements and habitable attics
d. Smoke alarms shall be installed not less than 3 feet (914 mm) horizontally from the door or

opening of a bathroom that contains a bathtub or shower unless this would prevent placement
of a smoke alarm required by this section.

B. Carbon Monoxide alarms are installed in accordance with the approved manufacturer’s instructions
and per the requirements of the California Residential Code, in dwelling units where either the
dwelling unit contains a fuel-fired appliance or fireplace and/or the dwelling unit has an attached
garage with an opening that communicates with the dwelling unit.

a. Outside of each separate sleeping area in the immediate vicinity of the bedrooms
b. On every occupiable level of dwelling unit, including basements.
c. Where a fuel-burning appliance is located within a bedroom or its attached bathroom, a carbon

monoxide alarm shall be installed within the bedroom.

Owner’s name (print):   

Owner’s signature:  Date:   

Contractor’s name (print): CSLB License: 

Contractor’s signature:  Date: 

Project Address:  Permit #: 
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