Drug Suppression Unit


2212 N. Winery, Suite 122,
Monday - Friday
Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Fresno CA. 93703  map
(559) 600-3800

Drug Testing Hours

   8:30-11:30 AM
   1:00-*4:30 PM
   *You must be checked into reception by 4:15 PM to test.

The Drug Suppression Unit is in charge of supervising adult probationers placed in the following drug treatment programs; Deferred Entry of Judgment Drug Court (PC 1000), Post Conviction Drug Court (PCDC), The Substance Abuse and Crime Prevention Act of 2000 (Prop. 36). All drug testing for the Probation Adult Division is conducted at the Drug Suppression Building at Winery.


Where is the Drug Suppression Unit/ Assessment Center Located?

The Adult Probation Drug Suppression / Behavioral Health Assessment Center address is:

2212 N. Winery Ave. Suite #122
Fresno, CA 93703  map
Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Phone: (559) 600-3800


What kind of identification do I need to submit a drug test?

A picture identification such as a; California Driver’s license, California Identification card, School Identification card, or Check cashing card is required to submit to drug testing. You will not be allowed to submit to drug testing without proper identification.

How much does it cost to submit to drug testing?

Drug test forms cost $12 each. Acceptable forms of payment are cash, cashier’s check, or money order only

What are the drug testing hours?

   8:30-11:30 AM
   1:00-*4:30 PM
   *You must be checked into reception by 4:15 PM to test.


What’s the difference between PC1000, Proposition 36, and Substance Treatment and Recovery probation?

The PC1000/Deferred Entry of Judgment program is an 18 month to 3-year Drug Court program in which you will complete a community-based drug education and support programs along with frequent reviews with the Court. You are NOT sentenced to formal probation when placed on PC1000. To be eligible for PC1000 you must not have had a previous drug conviction and have been free of any felony convictions for five years. When you successfully complete the program, your case will be dismissed.

The Proposition 36 program is an initiative voted into law by the voters which took effect July 2001. The program is designed to provide substance abuse treatment for participants convicted of misdemeanor or felony charges. Offenders in this program are placed on 2-year probation terms with orders to complete drug treatment. When you successfully complete the program your case will be dismissed.

The Substance Treatment and Recovery (STAR) program is designed to provide intensive supervision and substance abuse treatment for participants who are convicted of misdemeanor and felony drug charges. Offenders in this program are convicted of non-violent drug offenses or are violation of Probation failures from the Proposition 36 program. The Court places the defendants on 2-year probation terms and orders them to complete a highly structured and intensive 6-month minimum drug treatment program. Formal graduations are conducted to publicly acknowledge the participants’ achievements in successfully completing the program.

How do I qualify for dismissal of Proposition 36 charges?

You must petition the Court to have your case considered for dismissal. Your Probation Officer will assist you with this after you met these minimum qualifications:

  • Participate in the entire program for a minimum of 6 months
  • Successfully complete all forms of treatment
  • Incur no new convictions during the program
  • Pay all fees and fines as well as treatment costs
  • Maintain 3 months of random negative drug tests
  • Provide proof of being employed or in an education program
  • Submit a DNA sample pursuant to PC296
  • Maintain compliance with terms and conditions of Parole and Probation


How long do I have to register as a narcotics offender?

According to California Health & Safety Code 11594, registration requirements described in Health & Safety Code 11590 terminate five years after the release from jail or termination of probation or parole of the person convicted.

If your case is dismissed under Penal Code Section 1203.4 you are released from the narcotics registration requirement as of the date your dismissal was granted

If I’m on probation do I have to submit a DNA sample?

The DNA Fingerprint, Unsolved Crime and Innocence Protection Act of 2004 retroactively expanded the scope of offenders described in Penal Code 296 in which DNA samples must be collected. The following offenders are subject to DNA collection via a mouth buccal swab regardless of whether the court advised the offender of said requirement:

  • Persons convicted of any felony offense on or after November 3, 2004.
  • Persons currently in custody or on probation, parole, or any other supervised release or government control or supervision for any felony offense committed prior to November 3, 2004.
  • Persons convicted of a misdemeanor, or other crime on or after November 3, 2004, but with a past qualifying felony conviction or adjudication of record.
  • Persons who are required to register under PC 290 or PC 457.1 for felony or misdemeanor sex or arson offenses.
  • Persons arrested on or after November 3, 2004, for felony PC 290 sex crimes, murder, voluntary man slaughter, or attempts to commit those crimes.
  • Persons referred to and housed in mental health treatment programs for felony offenses.
  • Beginning in 2009, all adults arrested for a felony offense qualify for DNA sample collection.
  • Out-of-state persons accepted into California for service of custody, probation, or parole under an interstate compact
  • Any person who enters a plea conditioned upon the collection of a DNA sample.


The Proposition 36 Court ordered me to be assessed for drug treatment. What do I do?

A Substance Abuse Specialist (SAS) conducts a drug treatment assessment in court prior to sentencing. In the event the SAS is unavailable and the Court directs your to report to Probation: Bring a copy of the court minute order to the Drug Suppression Unit / Assessment Center. You’ll be seen that day or will be given an appointment with a Substance Abuse Specialist to determine the appropriate level of treatment.

What fees/fines do I have to pay to participate in a Drug Court program?

PC1000 – You must pay a one time $50 administrative fee to Probation, pay for all drug testing with Probation, and the cost of the Drug Education program to the provider.

Proposition 36, Substance Treatment And Recovery – While on formal probation you’ll be responsible to pay all Court ordered fines, drug testing with Probation, drug treatment fees, and yearly Probation supervision fees. Drug treatment costs are based on a sliding scale dependent on your income.

If I’m in a Drug Court program where can I make fee/fine payments?

Court fines are paid at the

Revenue Reimbursement Division

2281 E. Tulare Ave., #101
Fresno, CA 93721
(559) 600-3815

OR Mail payments to:

Revenue Collections Unit
P.O. box 226
Fresno, CA 93708

All other fees can be paid at the address below. Acceptable forms of payment for fees are cash, cashier’s check, personal check, money order, and credit card. Personal checks and credit cards not accepted to purchase drug test forms.

Adult Probation Drug Suppression Unit.

2212 N. Winery Ave., Suite #122
Fresno, CA 93703
(559) 600-3800