Juvenile Justice Coordinating Council

Senate Bill 823 closes the California Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ). Now, those youth will be housed and treated locally. The Juvenile Justice Coordination Council was from to oversee, create and report on a yearly plan for the Juvenile Justice Crime Prevention Act (JJCPA) Youthful Block Grant (YOBG) programs.

Next Meeting

Juvenile Justice Coordinating Council Meeting

Monday, November 13, 2023 at 3:00 p.m.


Juvenile Justice Campus Courthouse
2nd Floor Conference Room C243/244
(2nd floor at the end of the courthouse hallway, room is at the very end)
3333 E. American Avenue, Bldg. 701
Fresno, CA 93727

11.13.2023 JJCC Meeting Agenda(PDF, 247KB)

4.17.23 JJCC (Draft) Meeting Minutes(PDF, 262KB) 


Juvenile Justice Coordinating Council Membership

  • Kirk Haynes – Chief Probation Officer (Chair)
  • Buddy Mendes – District 4, Board of Supervisors
  • Paul Nerland – Chief Administrative Officer
  • David Kalemkarian – Assistant Presiding Judge
  • Leanne Le Mon – Juvenile Presiding Judge
  • John Zanoni – Sheriff / Coroner
  • Lisa Smittcamp – District Attorney
  • Antoinette Taillac – Public Defender
  • Susan Holt – Interim Director, Department of Behavioral Health (DBH)
  • Sanja Bugay – Director, Department of Social Services 
  • Paco Balderrama – Chief, Fresno Police Department
  • Jim Yovino – Fresno County Superintendent of Schools (FCSS)
  • Marisa Gamboa – Executive Director, Court & Community Schools (FCSS)
  • Barbara Schulte – Chair, Juvenile Justice Commission
  • Nicole Linder - Marjaree Mason Center
  • Emilia Reyes – CEO, Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC)
  • Tyrone Roderick Williams, Fresno Housing Authority Representative
  • Joanna Litchenberg – CEO, Focus Forward
  • Susan Murdock – Program Manager, Mental Health Systems
  • DJ Criner – Pastor, Saints Rest Baptist Church
  • Debra Rush – CEO, Breaking the Chains
  • Sergio Coronel, Youngsters for Change – Youth Representative
  • Ruben Espinoza, Fresno Barrios Unidos



Phased Response Plan

  • Rosalinda Acosta, Probation
  • John Zanoni, Sheriff's Office
  • Susan Holt, DBH
  • Paco Balderrama, Fresno Police Chief
  • Marisa Gamboa, FCSS
  • JoAnna Edwards - Public Defender's Office
  • Barbara Schulte, Juvenile Justice Commission
  • Susan Murdock, Mental Health Systems
  • Debra Rush, Breaking the Chains



  • Lisa Smittcamp, District Attorney
  • DJ Criner, Pastor, St. Rest
  • Kirk Haynes, Probation
  • David Kalemkarian, Superior Court
  • Emilia Reyes, EOC
  • Joanna Litchenberg, Focus Forward
  • Lori Willits, Probation



  • Yussel Zalapa, Probation
  • Buddy Mendes, District 4, BOS
  • Jo Anna Edwards, Public Defenders's Officer
  • Sanja Bugay, Department of Social Services
  • County Counsel, TBD


JJ Realignment Plan / Required in SB 823

  • Kirk Haynes, Probation Department
  • Galen Rutiaga, District Attorney’s Office
  • JoAnna Edwards, Public Defender’s Office
  • Sanja Bugay, Department of Social Services
  • Susan Holt, Department of Behavioral Health
  • Marisa Gamboa, FCSS
  • The Honorable Leanne Le Mon, Court Representative
  • Morgan Velez-Young, Brown Girl Healing
  • Maggie Navarro, City of Fresno
  • Sheri Wiedenhoefer, Community Justice Center
  • John Zweifler, Department of Public Health
  • Joanna Litchenberg, Focus Forward
  • Ruben Espinoza, Fresno Barrios Unidos
  • Angel Duarte, GEO Group
  • Christina Valdez-Roup, National Alliance on Mental Illness, Fresno (NAMI)
  • Pastor Booker Lewis, Rising Star Baptist Church
  • Dulces Gonzalez, Wellpath
  • Sergio Coronel, Youth Advocate, Youngsters for Change
  • Briana Zweifler, Youth Advocate



Agendas Minutes and Documents