About Fresno County Office of Emergency Services

1221 Fulton Street, Fifth Floor
P O Box 11867, Fresno CA 93775-1867
Phone: (559) 600-4065
Contact us by email: OES@fresnocountyca.gov
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
(Closed 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm)

The Fresno County Office of Emergency Services (OES) coordinates, develops and maintains the Fresno County Operational area Master Plan.  This Plan serves as a guide for the County’s response to emergencies/disasters in the unincorporated areas of the County and ensures effective and economical use of resources, material, and personnel for maximum benefit and protection of affected populations in an emergency/disaster.  Communities and agencies within Fresno County have suffered many disaster magnitude emergencies including the 1983 Coalinga earthquake, numerous wild-land fires, many flooding events, multi-casualty dust storm event, and weather related agricultural economic disasters.

On November 14, 1995, the Fresno County Board of Supervisors (BOS) adopted the Standardized Emergency Management System (SEMS), which is the State framework for different responder agencies and jurisdictions disaster response. Additionally, the BOS established the geographic area of the County of Fresno as the Fresno County Operational Area (Op Area) and designated Fresno County as the Op Area lead agency. In the County’s role as the Op Area lead agency, Fresno County OES maintains ongoing communication with local government agencies (i.e. county departments, incorporated cities, special districts, public school   districts), many state and federal agencies, and various non-governmental organizations (e.g. non-profit organizations), which enhances capabilities to respond and recover from disasters. 

During non-disaster periods, Fresno County OES coordinates multi-agency, multi-jurisdictional information on Emergency Management training opportunities, updates and enhances crisis incident management systems, emergency plans, resources directories, and disaster response inventory and equipment.

Each of the fifteen (15) incorporated cities in the County of Fresno maintains an Office of Emergency Services function for their jurisdictional responsibility areas and can coordinate and interact with Fresno County OES regarding disaster preparedness, response, and recovery activities.